Oh, hey, France!

The First Two Weeks in a Foreign Land

By now I have taken my first French lesson, eaten delicious sorbet, and gone to a penis showcase, among other things. There is certainly no lack of surprises in this country. I’ve now had the chance to traipse along Le Garonne through the heart of Toulouse and I have no doubt that I should be here. Of course, it has been, at times, lonely but nothing that exceeds a dull ache in the pit of my stomach. It is most often, and quickly, replaced by a feeling of friendly confusion.

My trip began with a 24-hour+ travel day. By the time I arrived in Dublin (after having driven to Orlando, and flown to Philadelphia) I hadn’t slept in about two nights. Two because the night before I left Jacksonville I could hardly be expected to have slept. That night was an orgy of feelings that realized afterwards they probably shouldn’t have gone romping around together. So from Dublin I flew to Paris and from Paris to Toulouse. It was a motherfucker of a journey accompanied by a lovely bout of airsickness. But then there was Muriel (my host mom) and all was well.

Muriel has one of the best laughs I’ve ever heard. It’s a sing-song melody and makes me happy. She’s up there in the strata of moms that everyone can’t help but love.

She and Philippe, her husband, are attempting to show me the ropes.  We live about 40 minutes outside of Toulouse in a little village called Castelnau d’Estretefonds. Its main landmarks are a cathedral and a castle (hence the name). The castle is now an old folks home and the cathedral just got revamped. It takes about 40 minutes to get into Toulouse by car and along the way there are fields and fields of sunflowers. Guess where they produce sunflower oil. Yep, you got it. It took me about the full two weeks I’ve been here to realize that was why they are in such abundance. Silly me, I thought they just REALLY liked sunflowers. In addition to that phenomenon, we actually go to specific stores for specific goods whenever possible. I.E. We go to a butcher for our meat, a farm for our pesticide-free veggies, a baker for our bread (which we pick up daily, without fail), and, oh, we go into the back yard for our fruit. Two days ago I found myself at the top of a fig tree filling up baskets of the things. There is also a pecan tree, or walnut tree, in the back yard. I’m not sure which because no one knows the English translation for the nut.  This will be rectified when I go to collect the goods this afternoon (by the crate no less).

Speaking of food, good god! Every meal is mouth-watering. One meal of note was when I took a trip into the deep country my first weekend. Philippe, the kids, and I hopped into the car Saturday morning on our way to see an air show in his village of origin. We drove through some beautiful rolling roads surrounded by picturesque scenery. The roads were dotted with black-eyed sheep, men in carriages being pulled by mules, and French children running around in clothes I thought existed only in movies. Philippe’s cousin lives in a house near the field where the air show was to take place and that was where we “took our meal.” To start things off, we had a couple bottles of fine French red wine served with cantaloupe and salty, salty ham. This was followed by canard, otherwise know as duck, in some sort of savory mixture of which I could cull out the flavors of raisins and dark spices. Alongside this dish, we had mousaka, which is a traditional Greek dish, but, damn, this French woman knew how to do it, too. This main course was followed by the cheese-and-more-bread course. It was some potent goat cheese in three different forms: really strong, really fucking strong, and atomic. It was like I was being hazed. Did I mention it’s rude not to finish one’s plate? The atomic cheese was a wheel of goat cheese wrapped in a maple leaf that had been soaking in some sort of grain alcohol for weeks on end, pushing into the territory of months. It was almost black. After I ate it, everyone started laughing and said since I had actually tried it I was officially allowed to stay in France for a while. Ha. Ha.

I’m going to sign off now for fear of boring anyone that was kind enough to read this. There will be much more to come and so much I’ve yet to tell you. Au revoir, mes amis!

About lolo1986

A young 20-something trying to figure shit out. So, hey, why not move to France for a year?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Oh, hey, France!

  1. cate says:

    Laurel!
    This all sounds so magically delicious. My mouth is watering! I’m so excited for your adventure and to read all about it. Keep up the blog! It’s not only great for us but you’ll love to be able to look back on it.

  2. Ashley Dewhurst says:

    Hey Laurel! I loved reading about your adventures so don’t worry about boring anyone! 🙂 I love the way you write…I can actually picture everything your talking about. I’m so glad you are enjoying it and can’t wait to hear more so PLEASE keep writing! 🙂 Miss you girl but again, I’m so happy you are there and having fun!

    PS – try to take a picture of the sunflower fields and post them…Riley loves sunflowers! 🙂 Riley misses her ‘Lalo’ 🙂 *hugs*

  3. Brian says:

    Look at you, writing a blog! Glad everything is going well. Our neighbors just got an opear?? too from Toronto (and she’s cute!) . She was telling us of some horror stories about some other opears in her program who got stuck with some pretty awful families.. But sounds like yours is awesome. Keep the posts coming, and if possible, you should try and upload some photos.
    Oh and to give you an update the Jags beat Tebow and the Broncos on Sunday in a great game! Hopefully a sign of good things to come this year…

  4. ellie shuff says:

    Oh, never boring! I laughed out loud and turned green with envy.

  5. Jennifer Purpura says:

    you better believe I will be frequenting your blog! it gives me something that is actually worth my time when I am trying to find things to do other than studying! It will be my outside reading material. omg, I MISS YOU and am so excited for you, holy crap =)

  6. Jessica says:

    This is awesome. I know I’ve said this like 600 times but I am SO excited for you, Laurel. Way jealous of the foodie experience you are having over there..don’t come back TOO wine snobby because you know Jacksonville can hardly compete! MISS YOU! Can’t wait to see you when you come home…for my wedding!!!

  7. Molly Hainline says:

    Ah! The sunflowers! You better be taking boatloads of pictures! Definitely reading your blog and living vicariously through you. Let me know when a good time in May is to visit you – I am WAY overdue for a European vacation. 🙂

    xo

  8. Emma Goodwin says:

    Laurel! I am so glad you are keeping this blog. And extremely jealous but happy for your adventures. I’ll be reading. Miss you.

  9. RedHeadedDevil says:

    Yeah… didn’t read this one… Ran out of time… I had to flush.

Leave a comment